I am not that same happy green vegan that started this blog about a year ago. 

As my knowledge, experience, and interactions expand,  I am more and more angered and depressed by the way Homo sapiens treats other animals-both human and non-human.   Every day I am bombarded by the news from PETA, IFAW, and other animal rights associations such as Compassion over Killing, and guess what – only a small percentage of those news are good.  The rest is a small window into the world of animal abuse and neglect.   Dogs on the streets of China being culled to clean up the city, Cats and Dogs are being farmed for fur which is being imported into highly industrialized countries with strong animal rights like Canada, seals are being clubbed just for the fun of it, tigers are being farmed for the body parts being used in traditional medicine in China, baby cows are being taken from their mothers a few minutes after birth every day, and don’t start me on factory farming that is the saddest and most uncompassionate thing done to animals out there.

(A picture I got from I don’t get it Blog)

Translation: Have no Fear – He is Vegetarian

And the things I’ve listed above is just a proportion of the horror going on out there.  Now tell me to go and be happy-go-lucky and I will say “No Way!”.  I am saddened by ignorance, and unwillingness to know and do something by the people I encounter every day who think that their problems are so important and huge that there is not time or resources to do anything to help out others.

I really hope you are not one of those people, and if you are not, trust me one person can indeed make a big difference.  Just as Colleen Patrick-Goudreau, who I love very much for her podcast Vegetarian Food for Thought, says:

“Don’t do nothing because you can’t do everything. Do something!”  (Colleen Patrick-Goudreau)